Why Regionalism from Below and Cross-border Solidarity?

Why Regionalism from Below and Cross-border Solidarity?
JOIN ASIA-EUROPE PEOPLES’ FORUM (AEPF 13): Converging Alternatives from Asia and Europe towards Alternative Regionalism and People-to-People Solidarity, 
Date: 18th May 2021 Tuesday
Time: 12:30 PM CET | 4:00 PM India, Sri Lanka | 5:30 PM Jakarta, Thailand, Vietnam | 6:30 PM Philippines, Malaysia, Hongkong 5PM Myanmar | 7:30PM Timor Leste, Japan, Korea
 
Beyond state-to-state mechanisms, the peoples of Asia and Europe need to build an alternative peoples’ regional integration. The diverse modalities of the global crisis intensified by the COVID-19 pandemic provided a space for communities, through their alternative and sustainable practices, to demonstrate cross-border solidarity, resistance, resilience, and collective action. There are multitudes of successful people-led alternative practices in these two regions that deserve substantial attention and support. This Open Space would like to explore the importance of alternative regionalism between Asia and Europe that is rooted from the alternative practices of communities in these two regions. It is hoped that this opportunity will generate participation of local communities in the lead up to strategic actions to strengthen a people-to-people cooperation and solidarity between Asia and Europe.
unnamed
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.